Reviving Batteries

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 15:56
ThreadID: 25844 Views:7659 Replies:15 FollowUps:14
A conventional lead acid battery that has just been used to unsuccessfully start a car - can to some extent be revived by going out and buying some aspirin and feeding it with one or two of them. Panadol will equally do.

This really and truly does work!

I will give a free copy of any one of my books to the first person who can

(a) Come up with not less than four other ways (none of which must involve any electrical charging process) that achieve the same result. And,

(b) Explain why this/they work.

Collyn Rivers
Caravan & Motorhome Books

Reply By: Member - Raymond - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:12

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:12
Hi Collyn

I find that playing music to the battery helps, as long as it is not from the car radio.

If desperate singing to it for a while seems to help

Giving it some hands on heeling helps

going and have a cup of coffee or a VB. PS don't waste the VB on the battery

All work the same as the asprin as it gives the battery time to revive abit usually 30 minutes works
Ray.
AnswerID: 126638

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:13

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:13
You could use Nurofen, Voltaren, Celebrex, or Brufen but not Vioxx as it might kill the battery off. Maybe taking off the caps and putting in a pill causes currents in the liquid or most likely, it is just a time waster and if you wait and do nothing it will get better anyway.....old doctors trick... waste time doing nothing and the body might heal itself. Or it could be a placebo effect!!

AnswerID: 126639

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 17:32

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 17:32
Andrew,
If you can steal one of Jen's viagras (the ones she keeps hidden, crushes up into a powder and slips into your coffee every night), you could use one of those in the battery and it would keep it up all night!! Boom Boom....:-))
FollowupID: 381226

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 19:00

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 19:00
Ahhhhhhhhhhh Roachie.... what has Andrew been telling you!!! I thought he wanted that kept a secret... LOL

Jen

BTW it's the Port I slip it into!!!!
FollowupID: 381235

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 19:05

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 19:05
EVERY night?

Does she need somewhere to hang the washing?
FollowupID: 381236

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:08

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:08
Don't they use Viagra in nursing homes to stop the old blokes from rolling out of bed??

FollowupID: 381265

Reply By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:14

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:14
Think the asprin creates effervescence, which somehow increases the specific gravity?

Not an authority on this AT ALL, but shall watch this one with interest!

Rgds

Ron
AnswerID: 126640

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:47

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:47
Bush mechanics 101 ?
1. drain batt fluid into a safe container ,refill batt with electrolite from a charged batt.
2. boil water and soak rags in same ,wrap batt in now hot rags.
3. sit and wait 1/2 to 1hr for batt to stabilize
4. sit and wait long enough and sure as eggs come from a chooks clacker some Explore Oz "expert" will come to fix the problem.

Why do these 4 work ??? same as why does the sun rise in Qld and sets in W.A., B bl--dy cause.
AnswerID: 126649

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:51

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 16:51
"1. drain batt fluid into a safe container ,refill batt with electrolite from a charged batt. "
I Remember doing this for someone up north, it Really does work.
FollowupID: 381221

Follow Up By: joc45 - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 19:26

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 19:26
What does the owner of the good battery do after you've pinched his electrolyte?
FollowupID: 381240

Reply By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 17:06

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 17:06
Collyn,
I think the asprin is a time killer.
Got caught out the back of Cobar a few years back. Battery flat and a looong walk to help. Mate that was with me drained the battery into a billy, heated it and replaced in battery. Also poured hot water over the battery.
Just enought juice to start the ute.

Vince
AnswerID: 126651

Reply By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 17:22

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 17:22
Collyn,

I quote from your own site...............

"This is a superb example of people believing right things for totally wrong reasons!

It is absolutely true that, in some circumstances, feeding a battery with aspirin will partially revive it. So will Panadol, the Mozart Horn Concerto, Reiki, (the ‘laying on of hands’) for half an hour - that one’s even in some Reiki handbooks. So does reciting Elliot’s ‘The Wastelands’ – or swearing profusely at it for half an hour. Any or all of the above will help – Reiki works best of all, but swearing comes close.

Why do these all work? And they really do!

It’s simply because a starter battery that has not quite started a motor still has some energy left in its electrolyte. After 30 minutes or so that energy will be available for use. Thus anything, anything that enables it to rest for half an hour will work.

It’s not the aspirin that works – it’s the time it takes to find it. Many Mozart concerti run for half an hour. So may a Reiki session.

Reiki works best because laying hands on the thing warms it up – and that speeds the battery’s internal electro-chemical reaction. But channelling energy? Sure, but it’s just thermal."

Stuart

AnswerID: 126655

Follow Up By: AT4WD ADVENTURES - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 17:34

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 17:34
Collyn,

Sorry mate I think I killed your thread......

Anyway four other ways may be......

1. Play a game of touch footy with all campers present.
2. Cuddle your other half for an hour.....lol
3. Make a damper for dinner.
4. Change the oil in your engine.

Stuart.
FollowupID: 381227

Reply By: F4Phantom - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 18:48

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 18:48
adding energy to a chemical reaction will speed it up and in some reactions move the reaction further than it otherwise would have with out the extra energy, a simple way to do this is heat energy like the other fella's said. Panadol will cause the battery fluid to move & movement of it self is actually energy, just not much, perhaps on another chemical level this energy actually amounts to enough to help speed up the electron flow.
AnswerID: 126666

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 19:00

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 19:00
G'day Collyn, thankyou for the oppurtunity to help you out, you have helped me in the not too distant past.
As far as batteries go, in my experience, aspirin, voltaren, panadol are only tempoary measures in 'getting back to charge', the immediate effect is only a stop gap.
I tend to use more alternative remedies, when the battery refuses to crank over the motor.
I immediately proceed to apply my 12 to 24 acupuncture needles in the appropriate areas throughout the battery head. The process is then followed by the manipulation of said needles and the incantation of the zen chant( which can only be revealed to those suffering from battery charge failure).Usually the battery will come to full charge within the time it takes to get to the part of the zen chant where other people have gathered and start to sing Kumb-bi-ahh.
Other than this there are the 'normal remedies' but other than the drugs mentioned previously, even before I start my trip, my drug by choice, Celebrex, is administered through the head of the battery( of course if the battery is a sealed unit, this is where a faith healer is bought into action).
You have to understand that the acidity of a battery plays a big part of the batteries life and if ever I'm out and about and my needles are at home I usually always have a cask of Merlot Pressings somewhere in the vehicle. It makes no difference if the battery is sealed or not, if it is I just leave the battery in a tray filled with the Merlot and through the process of osmosis and the acidity the battery is usually charged within the time it takes to drink the other cask I have with me.
If all else fails, my partner Sal, who is usually with me, will insist "give the battery a rest" and somehow she persuades me to make her a cup of tea. By some miricale this ( and it has me dumbfounded) process works ---everytime.
AnswerID: 126667

Reply By: joc45 - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 19:36

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 19:36
You're all wrong!!
Aromatherapy is the answer. But not just any old aroma.
(I've seen this done before, so trust me): Get your kit of aromas at the ready. Dangle a gold ring (brass will do) by a string over your battery while holding an open bottle of aroma next to the battery. If the ring goes around in circles, the aroma is not compatible. If the ring goes from side to side, then you've hit the jackpot; dribble a homeopathic quantity of the aroma into each cell.
(actually, I'm not sure if it isn't the other way around, but what the heck, the battery's dead anyway, so what have you got to lose?)
AnswerID: 126672

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 19:54

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 19:54
Way back, maybe 2002 or 2003 I posted a thread here on some Bush Mecanix

As mentioned before, pour battery contents in to saucepan or alike, bring up to boil, then pour back into battery and crank. Have done it once. It worked then. Not sure of science behind it but do I care.....as long as the bloody thing starts!!!

Alternatively, jack up right or left hand rear of truck, put rope or snatch strap around wheel, put truck into 3rd gear, switch ignition to on, and start like a lawn mower. If you have lockers or constant Awd........not sure!!! lol
AnswerID: 126674

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:15

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:15
"Alternatively, jack up right or left hand rear of truck, put rope or snatch strap around wheel, put truck into 3rd gear, switch ignition to on, and start like a lawn mower."

Next time I am away with you I would love to see you put that to the test, just to prove it works. LOL.

Not that I would doubt you. LOL x 2.

FollowupID: 381268

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 07:55

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 07:55
Well, when I was a young fella and reasonably broke most of the time, my Suzuki had starter problems and for a couple of weeks I had to do this every time I switched the car off. I carried a trolley jack with me and had the lawnmower start down to pat. Have started a Tojo diesel like this as well in the bush but with the help of others.

So rest assured that if your Troopy's battery dies out the in the scrub I will be able to instruct a young fella like you to do the necessary. If all else fails there is always a box of matches handy..............

Double LOL
FollowupID: 381312

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:11

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:11
Hi Willem
Yes it does work but don't do it if you have a LSD as the drive will transfer to the other side wheel, you must have someone inside with foot ready to clutch as soon as it starts sore Jack Absolot (spelling) do it years ago.
I,v just had problems with my 2 year old starter battery (replaced) and tried a roll start just to make sure these new diesels will start

Yes

FollowupID: 381358

Reply By: roofscooter2 - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:02

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:02
i do know that asprin do work a kiwi(moari) showed me & got the old zepher going it had been sitting in the car on the street in surfers for months in about 1974 . does anti acid tablets work in gel batteries.bob
AnswerID: 126693

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 09:04

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 09:04
"a kiwi showed me & got the old zepher going it had been sitting in the car on the street in surfers for months in about 1974, does anti acid tablets work in gel batteries"

Bob,
did the owner of the zepher get stressed 'cause a kiwi pinched his car?
It musta had sheep-skin seat covers and the kiwi was feeling 'unluved' !!

Gel batteries r 'sealed' and it wood b hard to get anti-acid tablets in without leaving sum mess, maybe if you soak 'em in warm water an trickle in via a small hole may werk.
Dus anti-acid tablets make acid, maybe acid tablets werk betta ?
FollowupID: 381314

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 08:55

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 08:55
I think the main problem is the Prozac you have been feeding it. Stop that and it might brighten up!!!!!!

AnswerID: 126748

Reply By: John - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 09:33

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 09:33
Dear Collyn
Here's my competition entry.
1) Warm the battery up using the sun, rags soaked in hot water etc.
Warming the battery increases the speed of the chemical reaction and provides more power.
2) Rest the battery before trying it again.
Giving the battery some time before trying to start the car ago eight allows a surface charge to build up of the plates .
3) Clean the battery terminals and all other electrical contacts in the starting circuit.
Any deposit is on the terminals reduce the potential voltage.
4) Give the battery a shake.
Shaking the battery stirs the electrolyte and allows more active electrolyte to come in contact with the plates.

Cheers John
AnswerID: 126755

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 10:07

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 10:07
I posted this one as a really good illustration of the way campfire mythology may mask reality.

Frankly I'd forgotten that my full article (re such myths) had just been posted on my own website a few days ago, but am delighted that Stuart went there to look - even if he did give away the answer!

Raymond got there first - email me your postal adress and let me know which of my books you'd like (my new one 'The Camper Trailer Book') is about 12 days away from printing. Details of all the others are on my website.

Incidentally - replacing the electroyte by that from a charged battery also works - but so does jump-starting from that battery!

If you get really stuck (with a manual vehicle) - progressively jack up the rear of the vehicle and build a ramp under the rear wheels. Keep going until the vehicle's
at a fair height - then bump start by rolling down the ramp. This really does work - even with my OKA.
Collyn Rivers

AnswerID: 126764

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 11:56

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 11:56
"Jump starting from a good battery"
Gee whiz who would have thought of that as opposed to tipping out all the electrolyte? LOL

FollowupID: 381344

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:54

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 13:54
OF bl--dy course jump starting from a good battery will work ,however it does NOT fit the criteria of your original post, and as for the push /roll start , better than 50% of new private 4x4 sales are now auto , change the "RULES" as you go along eh?
FollowupID: 381356

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 21:51

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 21:51
It also doesn't help when the battery is dry because of overcharging (failed regulator) in high tempetures, also the lack of jumper leads can also make jump starting rather difficult.

Me, I always carry jumper leads, I have two batteries and plenty of water so (TOUCH WOOD) it won't be a problem...

But hey, you never know when you might be in someone elses car, or somewhere you didn't expect to be where you end up in the middle of nowhere with a flat battery, always handy to know this stuff! ;-)
FollowupID: 381422

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:30

Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:30
I am advised by the forum owners that offering a book as a prize is forbidden under the forum's rules. This was not known to me previously (and was unexpected as I have done this several times on other forums).

I will of course honour the promose made to supply the book - and apologise to the forum management for the misunderstanding. In view of this it's probably bettter for me not to add any more posts to this thread.
Collyn Rivers
AnswerID: 126934